Lunch from October 23th to October 27th 2017.
Our own house publication, providing an interesting look into what's what on our island and beyond...
A special column giving a high-five to worthwhile articles and opinions all through the year...
It's the devils music
Saturday, 01.12.2012, 20:20
oh what a night...
Hans Theessink & Terry Evans (NL/USA)
The Devil's voice seems sweet to hear, but don't complain about the heat. Re-introducing Hans & Terry, iconic dinosaurs of this thing called Delta Blues.
They're pure and  dirty as should be and musically aged as fine bourbon is aged and they forever branded our hearts time back with their 11-minute version of «Mississippi», a sentimental epitaph to the greats of this art, from Willie Dixon to Billie Holliday, while not forgetting anybody in between.
«It's the Devils music!» Terry's family once shouted and fisted to high heaven and despite of that, or because of it, he went on the - albeit imaginary - road with Willie, Albert King, Elmore James and Little Walter real early on - he, his soul and his voice. Terry Evans soon wrote songs for Pops Staples and Louis Jourdan and sat in with John Fogerty, Joan Armitrading, John Lee Hooker, Eric Clapton, Boz Scaggs, Maria Muldaur and Pops Staples. It was with Ry Cooder when he hit breakthrough time and in the movie «Crossroads» you hear him sing the title and contribute the piece «Down in Mississippi» to the track.
Up jumped the Devil and his congenial partner in the person of Hans Theessink, a nimble-fingered Dutchman who lives in Vienna and who got custody of Georg Danzers favorite guitar with the last wish «'you take good care of this baby». Anybody that's anybody in the know would support that that is exactly what Hans did in the best way he knew possible; fact is, Bo Diddley called him «one helluva guitar player». He's a worldwide acclaimed roots guitar god and even sleepy Vienna woke up for the blink of an eye to this giant in their midst and in 2001 tagged him with the predicament of «musical ambassador». (Other recipients in varied lines of work were Mischa Maisky, Uwe Seeler, Helmut Qualtinger, Thomas Gottschalk, Freddy Quinn, Pele, Konstantin Wecker and this year, some chick by the name of Joan Baez.) He's simply one of the busiest musicians and a dominating force in the genre of Blues'n'Roots and he plays it hot as hell, pure like an angel, sweet as love, with a guitar that's as nasty as the Devil. And he's way more fun than God.
Likewise Terry, some time ago, made the Delta sound a sound all his own. Alan Kaiser, house artist extraordinaire, attests that Hans told him that «Terry has nothing, but nothing in his head - other than his music.» And it's been rumored he doesn't let anything else enter there either - purism at its consequential best.
He did show a lucky hand though to make room and let Hans into his sphere. Together, they will grace us with an introduction to their newest album «Delta Time» (guesting on it is Ry Cooder). The work has contemporary arrangements, it magically rocks and fleetfingeredly rolls, it's just very beautiful and will leave you with a grin wider than that Delta river. Live, they'll goose bump your skin and turn on the heat for a devilish good time and make you believe you're God and the Devil all at once. And if it so happens you feel more like the latter on our Devils island, please remember the wise words of one Waits, Tom: «Don't you know there's no Devil, it's just God when he's drunk.»

top...
el Lokal

Unsere Elektrobrieftauben fliegen immer wieder ins worldweite Nezz. Unseren Newsletter abladen. Mindestens wöchentlich ...
Feins Z'Mittag gibt's vom 19. August bis und mit 23. August 2019
Am liebsten gelesen, gehört und angeschaut ...
Göttliche Teufelsmusik
Samstag, 01.12.2012, 20Uhr20
Lokalbühne
Hans Theessink & Terry Evans (NL/USA)
Vorwärts zurück zu den Wurzeln: Der Delta-Blues lebt. Rein & schmutzig wie es sich gehört. Schlicht fantastisch. Die beiden musikalischen Dinosaurier & Blues'n'Soul-Hochheiligen Hans Theessink & Terry Evans sind echten Insulanern spätestens seit ihrer 11-Minuten-Version von «Mississippi» ein Begriff, in dem sie von Willie Dixon bis Billie Holiday alle Grossmeister des legendären Musikstroms ennet dem grossen Tümpel aufzählen.
Die beiden gehören längst selbst zu den Superhelden der in Terry Evans' Familie als Teufelsmusik verteufelten Kunst von Albert King, B.B. King, Willie Dixon, Elmore James und Little Walter. Er musste sie heimlich hören und wusste dabei immer: «Ich werde Soulsänger.» Die Karriere begann dann später als Songschreiber (Pops Staples, Louis Jordan) und Sessionmusiker (John Fogerty, Joan Armatrading, John Lee Hooker, Eric Clapton, Boz Scaggs, Maria Muldaur, Pops Staples). Mit Ry Cooder gelang ihm dann endlich der Durchbruch. Im Film Crossroad singt Evans den Titelsong und steuerte zudem «Down In Mississippi» zum Soundtrack bei.

Evans fand in Hans Theessink den kongenialen Partner. Der in Wien lebende Holländer erbte kurz vor dessen Tod Georg Danzers Lieblingsgitarre mit dem Auftrag, gut auf das Baby aufzupassen. Hans' Helden Big Bill Broonzy und Leadbelly würden wohl einhellig bestätigen, dass besagtes Baby unter diesen begnadeten Bluesfingern prächtig aufblüht. Immerhin nannte ihn Bo Diddley «one helluva guitar player». Theessink gilt weltweit als Roots-Gitarrengott. Sogar die Wiener haben's gemerkt und ihm 2001 den Goldenen Rathausmann für seine Verdienste als musikalischer Botschafter verliehen. Goldener Rathausmann? Na, schau! Diesen leiwandnen Preis heimsten zet Be auch (man beachte die edle Mischung!) Mischa Maisky, Uwe Seeler, Helmut Qualtinger, Thomas Gottschalk, Freddy Quinn, Pélé, Konstantin Wecker und dieses Jahr eine gewisse Joan Baez ein. Als einer der meistbeschäftigten Musiker der Blues'n'Roots-Szene ist Hans aber ein Live-Crack von Gottes Gnaden. Und des Teufels Advokat zugleich.

Denn Terry hat die einstige Teufelsmusik längst verinnerlicht & vergöttlicht. Malkünstler Alain Kaiser sagt, Hans habe von Terry gesagt, der habe nur Musik im Kopf, sonst nix. Und er blieb beim Atelierbesuch im Auto sitzen, um nix anderem in seinem Schädelrund Platz machen zu müssen. Nun wird diese holde Duo Infernale also auf unserer Insel mit ihrem neuen Album «Delta Time» – bei dem auch Ry Cooder mittat – eine ihrer tief unter die Haut gehenden Live-Kernfusionen starten. Magisch rocknrollender Blues, voller Soul und jugendlicher Spielfreude. Elektrisierend. Alles echt, alles authentisch. Zeitgemäss arrangiert & betörend schön. Pure Insel-Magie: Diese beiden Wisemen jagen uns den schwarzen Schauer der blaublaublauen Sehnsucht in die zappelphilippinen Schwingknochen, dass es eine Freude ist. Heitere Fahne! Dagegen ist wahrlich kein Kraut gewachsen. Und schon gar keine Vasella-Chemie. Unnötig. Diese Musik heilt alle Wunden & Wehwechen, denn sie ist von dieser Welt. Hier bei uns, am ewigblausten Satansriver jenseits des grossen Teichs. Unfassbar schön!

top...
el Lokal