Lunch from October 23th to October 27th 2017.
Our own house publication, providing an interesting look into what's what on our island and beyond...
A special column giving a high-five to worthwhile articles and opinions all through the year...
I can see the future
Monday, 28.01.2013, 20:20
oh what a night...
Eleni Mandell
+ Sylvie Lewis (USA)
In the preview to her previous gig by us we wrote about quick change artist Eleni and her soulful «Artificial Fire», that she launched another coup with it and that she keeps on growing and changing. It was true then, it's true for her new work now. With her extensive musical palette and her ever expanding career, she goes through styles from Indie to Country as easy as a hot knife through butter, supported by the brilliance of her sideman Drake on guitar.
He's pure magic: His nasty guitar is barely there at times, it colorizes and re-frames, often mocking, then wails with melodic notes full of compassion. His flit fingers are everywhere and he provides Eleni Mandell with a sound carpet to stand on and with which to fly off on.
On the outset of her career, she sheepishly admits, she wanted to become Tom Waits. Abandoning that transgender attempt, she turned it all in her direction with the traditional roots work «Country For True Lovers» and now she was truly onto her way carving her own very personal and original niche, highlighted by distinct and uplifting sound structures. Pop - in which she dabbled for a bit - is part of this mix as well as a generous shot of Indie Rock. Today, she's got an impressive volume of music which is easily on par with that of Blondie, Elvis Costello, PJ Harvey, Chrissie Hynde, Joni Mitchell, Talking Heads and Television.
Eleni became a mom since last time we saw her, but it didn't stop her from making furore with her side project, The Living Sisters. With this, she clearly saw the future, not mundanely resorting to the crystal ball, but musically. Fittingly, her new album is titled «I Can See The Future» which was produced by Joe Chiccarelli (The Shins, The Strokes, White Stripes). They're a real dream team and with the help of first rate studio guys and together with Eleni's dreamy voice, they brought a dream to life that most musicians can only dream about. It's music that's less Indie than previous efforts, instead it's got more Soul, Gospel, Jazz and Country elements. With his pedal steel guitar, Greg Leisz in «Desert Song» gets the desert to glow, Steve Berlin (Los Lobos) on sax polishes and finesses, Joey Waronker drives the rhythm and tatoos on jazzy drums and Benji Hughes is Lee Hazlewood to Eleni's Nancy Sinatra on «Never Have To Fall In Love Again». It's all backed by the voices of the Living Sisters and the string and brass arrangements of Bright Eyes' Nathaniel Walcott. And in October of year last, she toured with Nick Lowe, no less.
It's tough making predictions - especially about the future (pass the olives, Yogi). But Eleni Mandell's music will allow you at least a glimpse of it. Here, by us and now.
top...
el Lokal

Unsere Elektrobrieftauben fliegen immer wieder ins worldweite Nezz. Unseren Newsletter abladen. Mindestens wöchentlich ...
Feins Z'Mittag gibt's vom 12. August bis und mit 16. August 2019
Am liebsten gelesen, gehört und angeschaut ...
Hypnotischer Zauber
Montag, 28.01.2013, 20Uhr20
Lokalbühne
Eleni Mandell
+ Sylvie Lewis (USA)
In der Vorschau zu ihrem letzten unser aller Inselkonzert schrieben wir über den beseelten Vorgänger «Artificial Fire», der grossen Verwandlungskünstlerin Eleni Mandell sei wieder mal ein kleiner Überraschungscoup gelungen, sie wandle & entwickle sich konsequent weiter. Das gilt noch immer.
Während sie sämtliche Stile ihrer bisherigen Karriere - von Indie bis Country - durchdekliniert, liefert ihr fantastischer Saitenmann Drake stets die richtigen Licks ab. Hypnotischer Zauber: Oft hockt seine Gitarre klein und böse in der Ecke und kommentiert und konterkariert das Geschehen mal spöttisch, mal höhnisch, mal mitfühlend. Überall hat der Mann seine flinken Finger drin; er gibt Mandells heterogener Songsammlung den festen Rahmen, führt sie stilsicher vom Rock zum Folk und wieder zurück.

Eleni Mandells Weg begann – und das sagt sie selbst – mit dem etwas schrägen Vorsatz, am liebsten Tom Waits sein zu wollen. Es folgte mit «Country For True Lovers» eine Kehrtwende: Plötzlich galt sie als Garantin für erstklassigen Retro-Sound mit traditionellen Wurzeln. Sie entwickelte sich von da weg, hin zu einer eigenständigen Form, die zuletzt in bemerkenswert gut gelaunten Strukturen endete. Pop – an dem sie sich einst die Zähne ausbiss – hat sich ins Geschehen gemischt, wie auch eine Prise Indie-Rock. Heute hat Eleni ein ziemlich beeindruckendes Gesamtwerk vorzuweisen, das im Vergleich mit Blondie, Elvis Costello, PJ Harvey, Chrissie Hynde, Joni Mitchell, Talking Heads und Television locker mithalten kann.

Eleni ist in der Zwischenzeit Mutter geworden und hat mit ihrem Sideprojekt The Living Sisters für Furore gesorgt. Und sie kann jetzt auch in die Zukunft sehen. Nicht mit Kristallkugel, sondern mit Zukunftsmusik: Eleni Mandell's neues Album «I Can See the  Future» wurde produziert von Joe Chiccarelli (The Shins, The Strokes, White Stripes). Die beiden sind a) ein echtes Dreamteam und haben b) geschafft, Eleni's verträumten Gesang c) mittels Hochkaratmitmusikern d) in präzisen Stimmungsbildern so richtig wunderprächtig zum Blühen zu bringen. Weniger Indie als der Vorgänger, dafür mehr Soul-, Gospel-, Jazz- & Country-Elemente. So bringt Greg Leisz die Southwestern-Landschaft von «Desert Song» mit seiner Pedal Steel-Gitarre so richtig zum Glühen. Saxofonist Steve Berlin (Los Lobos) poliert die souligen Konturen auf Vordermann. Und Benji Hughes spielt den Lee Hazlewood zu Eleni's Nancy Sinatra auf «Never Have To Fall In Love Again”. Drummer Waronker spielt durch, wischt auf den Snares wunderbar den Jazz ins «So Easy». Starke Farben auch von den Background-Chören ihrer Living Sisters und den Streicher- & Bläser-Arrangements von Bright Eyes' Nathaniel Walcott. Im Oktober des – schon wieder – letzten Jahres tourte sie mit keinem Geringeren als Nick Lowe durch Nordamerika. Wir freuen uns auf die musikalischen Prophezeiungen der aktuellen Eleni Mandell. Hier & jetzt schon.

top...
el Lokal